Recently I won re-election to the County Board for another two-year term and I turned 75.  Lots of celebrating and many thoughts about what’s next have occurred. Maybe the thoughts will resonate with you in your transitions.

                I’m someone who likes to celebrate many times with small groups of friends rather than one big bash. So, I’ve brunched, lunched and supped with friends. One party with friends who live in assisted living even included an art activity. Of course, there were cards and calls, including one from a nephew who suggested in the “what’s next?” area that I consider looking for a boyfriend.  I’m still pondering that one.

                My birthday falls on the same day as “national beer day” and “no housework day”, so I tried to celebrate both.  

                As a person who has everything, I decided to give myself contributions to the community: a lecture on birding by ear for the visually-impaired support group in town, a gift to the Meals on Wheels fund, a contribution to a Braille publisher to sponsor a poetry book being put into Braille, etc. Friends also contributed treats like 75 home-made cookies to share and a box of snacks including several chocolate items. Yes!

                As for what’s next, on my bucket list are: reading more, dabbling in poetry writing and writing a psalm. On the maybe list are a singing lesson to see if I can get beyond sounding like a bullfrog and a comedy class. As Dame Judi Dench  says: “Age is an opportunity for reinvention.”

All in all,  a T shirt I was given sums up my thoughts on 75 so far:  “Life is good.”    Forward!