Since Occupying Aging is an ongoing project, I’m beginning to think about a next book. Could this blog turn into a book? Maybe it would be when I reach seventy and have some profundities to add from that lofty age.

To start the process, I approached the teacher of the editing classes I’d worked with on previous books at the university. She passed me on to the gal who’s teaching it this year. She got excited about having her students’ first real editing project be working on the almost five years of blogs I have so far.

In the last couple weeks I’ve met with ten teams of two students to go over their edits. They all showed up on time, acted like young professionals and had prepared their editing suggestions well. They educated me about Oxford commas, when to write out numbers and when to use numerals, and when to use bulleted lists vs. numbered lists among other arcane topics. I plied them with hot chocolate and Luna allowed them to rub her belly if they really wanted to do so.

Last night I took cookies to their final work session on the project and listened to what they’d learned. One student spoke passionately about being sensitized about disability issues and some follow-up actions on campus she was taking. Another student commented that the most important thing she’d learned through this experience was how to work collaboratively and respectfully with an author.

The teacher said, “students very much appreciate and enjoy having a “real” project like this one, especially when it involves hot chocolate, homemade cookies, and a lovely four-legged helper dog.” Now the students are off for spring break, the teacher is off to grade their edits and I’m off to live life to the full so that by age seventy I’ll have more wisdom to share about Occupying Aging.

