Thank goodness we can celebrate Teen Read Week no matter what age we are. For me, part of it is nostalgia and part of it is awe at what’s out there now for teens.

As a teen I loved science fiction by Asimov, Heinlein and Clarke, probably a precursor to my adult love of thrillers and mysteries. I didn’t care about the fantasy parts of the genre, just heroic conquering of planets for the good guys. I also enjoyed some historical fiction like Rosemary Sutcliff’s Lantern Bearers. I was pleased to see Nancy Pearl also recommended it in her Book Crush: for Kids and Teens. Reading Grapes of Wrath in English class hooked me on John Steinbeck. Someday I’ll reread some of his novels, a rarity for me. I just love his characters.

Another English teacher made us read a memoir. I read Keep Your Head up Mr. Putnam! about Peter Putnam’s first guide dog. Reading about a living blind adult was a great change from Louis Braille and Helen Keller bios, all that I’d had before for role models.

How times have changed! This year, Teen Read Week, a national initiative created by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), features a multi-lingual “Read for the fun of it!” theme. The theme highlights the resources and services available to the 22 percent of the nation’s youth who speak a language other than English at home.

A national group of authors and publishers, We Need Diverse Books published the following piece this week: “Perspectives of Authors With Disabilities – We Need Diverse Books” http://weneeddiversebooks.org/perspectives-of-authors-with-disabilities-part-1/.

There are many more memoirs of people with disabilities suitable for reading by teens. Two of my recent favorites are Needles by Andie Dominick about her life with diabetes and Prison Baby by Deborah Jiang Stein about the emotional issues related to her adoption and how they influenced her life. My Beloved World by Sotomayor (who also has diabetes) provides a great read for teens about a full productive life with a disability on board.

To find out what’s new in teen books, beyond the best sellers, try looking for Alex, Printz, Schneider Family and other book award winners. For those of you who think you’re beyond teen reads, remember Harry Potter was penned for teens, not adults.

While snooping around for trends in teen reads, I discovered a mystery by Linda Greenlaw, Fisherman’s Bend, a fishing boat captain whose writing I love. I’m off to start reading it and hopefully to lose myself in the joy of reading. That’s the point of Teen Read Week, no matter what age one is.

