I’d planned to go to an audio described play at the Guthrie. But when I read about it online, I became concerned that the husband beating up the wife in the play might trigger bad reactions from my guide dog and/or me. So I bailed out and got some audio described movies instead.

When I was in college, I remember going to a James Bond movie with a date and falling asleep. I knew there were car chases, shots, love scenes and more car chases, but who was doing what to whom was a total mystery to me. I didn’t want to “bother” my date so didn’t ask who just got shot. One of the movies I borrowed was “Spectre”, a newer Bond movie that has audio description. I loved watching it and stayed on the edge of my chair for most of it. The describer did a masterful job of quickly identifying the characters and describing the action and relevant scene changes on the fly. I don’t think the credits mentioned who described the movie, but there ought to be an academy award for audio description and I’d nominate him. I also subscribed to NetFlix because they have some described shows that interest me and I feel like I should support those who try.

If you want to learn more about The Audio Description Project, a good place to start is www.acb.org/adp/. This website is an initiative of the American Council of the Blind and is a comprehensive site detailing what audio description is, who does it, how to get it, and much more. It contains a list of DVDs and television series with audio description as well as schedules for watching television shows with audio description and lists opportunities for individuals to train to become audio describers.

The other area of culture I featured this summer was gastronomic culture. The local farmers’ market got plenty of business from me and my friends’ gardens were bountiful. My tomatoes produced but got some dread disease so the season was short. My favorite new recipe from the web was for zucchini bites. After I tinkered with it, in case you’d like to make Kathie’s zucchini bites, here it is:

  1. Grate three cups of zucchini (two big ones) and squeeze as much water out of it as you can.
  2. Combine with one egg, one cup of Cheddar cheese and one cup of seasoned bread crumbs or stuffing mix.
  3. Mix well.
  4. Form into walnut-sized balls and bake on a greased cookie sheet at 350 for about a half hour or until they’re firm on top.

Viva culture!

 

