Feeling the need to get wiser, I decided to challenge myself to read fifteen books in 2015 that had some spiritual significance. When I told my Tuesday morning book club of elderly ladies who serve as my models of aging with grace and style of this project, they decided to also challenge me that they as a group would read fifteen spiritual books as well. Here’s my January report:

As T.S. Elliott said: “The only wisdom we can hope to acquire is the wisdom of humility.” The vagaries of Trivia Crack keep me humble. Just when I’m on a roll, I get a visual question like who’s picture is this? I like reading novels like Somewhere Safe with Somebody Good by Karon that mirror my realities of adjusting to retirement. Or How It All Began by Lively that points out our connectedness and how the perceptions of time change with age.

Because it’s the 25th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act this year, some of my spiritual reading is focusing on my disability identity. The Church of 80% Sincerity by Roche by a man with a facial deformity points out that sometimes our gifts and our flaws are the same thing. Including People with Disabilities in Faith Communities by Carter talks about the struggles I and millions of other people with disabilities face when we go to worship; struggles of theology, access and community.

As The Treasure Principle by Alcorn points out, we’re just the money managers, or managers of our time and talents for that matter. They’re ours to share because all we have is gift. So share away, dear blog readers! I’d love suggestions of books to put on my fifteen for ‘15 reading list.

