Being a bookworm can boost well-being as much as a $2,286 raise according to the August issue of Prevention magazine. I found this tidbit as I trolled through my favored sections of nine newspapers today using NFB Newsline. Earlier in the day I’d skimmed ten books on philanthropy for background for a talk I’m giving in September using Bookshare. In the evening I settled down to read On Such a Full Sea for an upcoming book club. August 9 is listed as Book Lovers Day, but for me every day is I Love to Read Day.

In honor of Book Lovers Day I put out a notice of this little known holiday on five listservs of blind bibliophiles I’m on, as well as my Facebook page, asking what folks were reading. Of the thirty responses I got, most were reading novels — everything from science fiction to historical to romance to best sellers. One person said they read mysteries during the day but nonfiction at night so they didn’t get spooked. Another talked about the novel she and her husband were reading together on CD. Doesn’t that sound romantic?

Of course my daily reading also includes the hundred emails I skimmed and the fifty Facebook posts I zipped through. No wonder the magazines I get in Braille are stacking up even though I thought I’d tackle those stacks in retirement. Not having had much access to written matter as a child, I can’t bear to toss them until I’ve at least skimmed them for articles to tear out.

One of the emails was notice of a contest for Seedlings braille books for kids www.seedlings.org where you could write a blurb and win $100 worth of free books. I submitted the following:

“I’ve been a Braille reader for almost sixty years. As an adult I was delighted to use Seedlings to buy books so I could read to nephews, and now great nephews and great nieces. I also have become an honorary Pank (professional aunt, no kids) to blind kids taught by a friend of mine who teaches blind children in Wisconsin. Because of Seedlings there are so many more children’s books in Braille than when I was young. It makes my heart happy.”

Just in case you’re not convinced yet that reading rules, I’ll close with the joke of the day that was one of those emails I got:

The teacher wrote on the blackboard, “I ain’t had no fun all summer.”

“Now Paul,” she said. “What shall I do to correct this?”

“Get a boyfriend.” Paul replied.

