Last  week I turned sixty-four.  I remember thinking “that’s really old” when I heard the Beatles first singing “
Will you still need me
Will you still feed me
When I’m sixty-four?”
How time flies and how perspectives change! Yes, I have less energy but I’ve become a more careful chooser of the battles I’ll take on.  As friends age too and some die, I realize both that I can’t do it all and that every day deserves savoring. On my birthday  I savored calls from friends who’ve known me half my life and get-togethers with busy people who took time to eat and chat.  Presents ranged from gourmet food and teas to spring and summer clothing that gives hope that spring is on the way.  Of course there was a pair of mittens just in case we’re not done with snow. People made sure Luna had just the right gifts for me, a pair of bookends with Lab heads on them and four Luna bars (a glorified granola bar)!  Four people took the time and effort to Braille their cards.  One got mixed up and wished me a “hazzy birthday” instead of a “happy” birthday.  But the more I think about it, it might be fun to have a “hazzy” year, whatever that is. My two new technological ventures are a Kindle for PC with accessibility plug in program and a bread machine.  They may ensure that the year is “hazzy”.   
I share my birthday with William Wordsworth whose poetry I like. A couple of his quotes I’ll attempt to live up to this year are:
“Rest and be thankful. and “Come grow old with me. The best is yet to be.”  Sixty-four is a great age to be I’m thinking.
